April 24, 2024, 05:13:46 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Electronic recycling startup  (Read 4666 times)

Offline richtronix

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Electronic recycling startup
« on: February 23, 2017, 01:47:09 AM »
Hello all,

Total newbie with zero experience but on the fast track to learn and do by summer (hopefully)

I have been watching videos and studying how to reclaim gold, palladium, and a few other metals from electronics by using acids.  I want to do things slightly different with a lot less "sorting and separation" of metals before using acid.

In other words, I want to grind and pulverize the entire computer to dust, soak that in acid, then precipitate (I think that is the correct word) each of the metals back out. Not sure if it is possible. If so, is there a specific order that each one would need done, gold first, then palladium, copper, silver aluminum, etc??

Any ideas and information is greatly appreciated just don't beat me up too bad for not knowing much. :) Thanks.

Offline Enthalpy

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +304/-59
Re: Electronic recycling startup
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2017, 11:34:40 AM »
Welcome, Richtronix!

Answers to questions you didn't ask, sorry for that:

This recycling is done in poor countries like Bengladesh because it brings little money from much work. I suggest to check how much gold a typical card carries (consider 5µm thickness on a Ram module or video card) and how much value it has.

The operation is very polluting. Any possible in a developed country?

It involves cyanides, bad acids or mercury in big amounts. Knowing little chemistry, you'd likely kill yourself.

Copper and aluminium aren't worth it. Silver is very uncommon in electronic boards. Palladium exists on SMD components for radio frequencies, so you may find some in portable phones, but not in computers. No need hence to precipitate the metals successively, unless you have dissolved undesired ones.