April 26, 2024, 07:39:27 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Problems with the Ideal Gas Law - please help.. Thanks!  (Read 2694 times)

Offline mscchephy

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1/-0
Problems with the Ideal Gas Law - please help.. Thanks!
« on: March 31, 2017, 03:47:33 PM »
Hello,
I'm desperate for some help.
I'm a high school chemistry teacher, and I love pushing my students and I love being as practical in my teaching as possible.
We discussed the Ideal Gas Law and practiced using it for a few days with sample problems from the textbook.
Today I wanted to use it to prove it works by calculating the volume of a balloon that I would blow up in class.
I massed the rubber balloon before and after blowing it up ( .129 gram difference), and I used the molar mass of exhaled air (29 g/mol) to find the number of moles of gas I put into the balloon.  ( 0.00445 moles )
I have a barometer in the room for the pressure.  ( 99.65 kPa )
I have the temperature of the balloon. ( 293 K )

So I put it into the formula where V = nRT/P
V =  0.0045 mol   ·  8.314  kPa  ·  L  ·  293 K  /  99.65 kPa  ·  mol  ·  K   =   0.108 L

BUT.. it's obvious that the balloon that I blew up is over a liter in volume, not a tenth of a liter.

Does anyone know why it would be off by a factor of 10?  It's very frustrating... (sigh)

Offline Corribus

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +530/-23
  • A lover of spectroscopy and chocolate.
Re: Problems with the Ideal Gas Law - please help.. Thanks!
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2017, 04:54:22 PM »
Well I can think of four possible problems.

First, you don't exhale air (more on that in a sec) so the molecular weight is probably off.