April 27, 2024, 06:11:10 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: thermodynamic properties of sulfuric acid  (Read 6075 times)

Offline teros

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
thermodynamic properties of sulfuric acid
« on: May 15, 2017, 06:02:05 PM »
Hi everybody, I'm a physicist trying to do a work about exoplanet atmospheres and stability of several liquids, but I'm having a serious problem to find information about sulfuric acid (H2SO4). I need the range of temperatures where this substance is in liquid state for different atmospheric pressures: 0.1, 0.3, 1, 3 and 10 atm. (at least). I only have the values for 1 atm. but I am taking  for the boiling points approximate values using the Antoine equation. Nevertheless, I've read in the wikipedia that, although the sulfuric acid boiling point is 337 ºC, over 300 ºC it descomposes slowly. So, for my issues of long term liquid stability, I am taking 300º C as the upper limit.

My questions are: a) does this 300º C issue happen at other pressures, for example at 10 atm.? or does this value change with pressure? b) which is the triple point of sulfuric acid? I need this to know which is the smaller atmospheric pressure where liquid H2SO4 can exist (I supposse the temperature will be similar to the melting point at 1 atm. as the melting point curve is almost vertical for small pressure ranges).

Of course, if somebody can give me the experimental values of melting and boiling temperatures for these atmospheric pressures, much better!

Thanks in advance for any help.

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
Re: thermodynamic properties of sulfuric acid
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2017, 09:30:06 PM »