March 28, 2024, 06:14:23 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Calculating the pH/ Bicarbonate change when modelling CO2 addition to blood  (Read 2821 times)

Offline gilpster

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Hi everyone,

I'm a doctor/programmer not a chemist and i'm stuck with a chemistry problem while trying to calculate the addition of CO2, H+, or HCO3- to a simplified model of human blood (we can assume the blood is water)

I know that CO2 dissociates to carbonic acid then bicarbonate and hydrogen ions:

CO2 + H2::equil:: H2CO3  ::equil:: H+ + HCO3-

which I can simplify:

CO2 + H20 ::equil:: H+ + HCO3-
(I'm guessing we know the pKa for this)

I know that we can use a modified version of the henderson-hasselbach equation to then calculate [H+] (and then pH of course)

[H+] = k x PCO2 / [HCO3-]

If I ignore the effects of CO2 binding to haemoglobin and amino groups, then adding CO2 (or H+ / HCO3- etc.) to the blood should then allow me to calculate the change in pH according to the above equation.

The problem is that some of the CO2 will dissociate to H+ and HCO3- according to the first equation, so before I calculate the pH I need to solve the math problem: Given that I know the starting concentrations of H+, CO2, and HCO3-, can I calculate the new concentrations after addition of a know quantity of one of these chemicals?

This matters greatly when giving Na+·HCO3- to a patient.  It produces large amounts of CO2 which the patient then needs to exhale and can cause respiratory failure (so I need to be able to model this)

Please forgive me if I have made some elemental errors in chemistry understanding - it really isn't my knowledge base and I don't have access to a biochemist.

Kenneth

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1799/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Please start here:

http://www.chembuddy.com/?left=pH-calculation&right=toc