April 24, 2024, 04:01:12 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Monitoring selectivity in real time  (Read 6161 times)

Offline VA

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Monitoring selectivity in real time
« on: June 11, 2006, 08:06:54 PM »
Can anyone recommend a reaction where a product X is only formed within a narrow temperature range (say 20K or less). If the temperature goes above or below this range, other products are formed. Ideally the experiment should be done at a convenient temperature (say not more than 100C and not less than 0C).

I am an engineer rather than a chemist (hence the poor chemistry knowledge) I have developed a method for monitoring selectivity in real time and I would like to test it on live chemistry.

If anyone can help, I will be very happy to share the data with them. 

Offline xiankai

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +77/-37
Re: Monitoring selectivity in real time
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2006, 01:39:34 PM »
althought i have no idea about specifics, how about settling for an equilibrium reaction, because most reactions do not form a product sharply in a narrow temperature range. at least a moderate change in reactants/products should be enough of an indicator.

when u mentioned 20K, did u mean 20oC instead, because

say not more than 100C and not less than 0C

is kind of misleading.
one learns best by teaching

Offline lavoisier

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +17/-3
  • El sueño de la razón produce monstruos
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2006, 02:04:48 PM »
I agree with xiankai, the selectivity will probably be a continuous function of the temperature: f(T).

If you talk about selectivity it means that you have at least 2 independent reactions competing.
A simple example is the base-catalyzed aldolic condensation of acetophenone with benzaldehyde, where the competing reaction is Cannizzaro disproportionation of benzaldehyde. I think there may be a significant temperature effect in this system.