April 29, 2024, 01:34:53 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: MOM Chloride Rotovap  (Read 2948 times)

Offline diazepamx

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
MOM Chloride Rotovap
« on: October 26, 2017, 11:41:02 AM »
Hello,

Forgive me I am a junior chemist. I am concerned because I used about 1 ml of MOMCl in a reaction involving a phenol substrate and DIPEA and DCM as solvent. Rather than working it up (following rxn) and diluting it beforehand, I concentrated the mixture using the rotovap and felt like I most likely inhaled whatever ether may have evaporated out. Our rotovap is not placed in a fume hood.
Has anybody experienced anything similar? Wondering what my chances of getting sick are?

Thank you.

Offline pgk

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +97/-24
Re: MOM Chloride Rotovap
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2017, 12:53:17 PM »
Chloromethyl methyl ether is carcinogen but after a repeated and relatively chronic exposure. So, don’t worry if its inhalation has happened only one time.
But for your safety in the future, you must follow the rules that are listed below:
1). Inform yourself about the health risks of all the reagents you use and what to do if something wrong happen.
2). Chemical reactions must be effectuated in the fume hood.
3). Take the appropriate safety measures, wear protection glass and wear a gas mask during working with dangerous and volatile chemicals.
4). You work up by following the exact operational procedure that is described in the reference source without changing working parameters and conditions.
5). Do not smoke and do not eat or drink in a chemical lab, during a break.
6). After ending your lab work, you have to clean carefully all used glassware and your hands.

Offline rolnor

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +149/-10
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2017, 01:31:42 PM »
Is it not the impurity bis-chloromethyl ether that is responsible fot the carcinogenic properties? I think that