April 25, 2024, 08:08:59 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Subshell filling question  (Read 8698 times)

Offline wakka

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Subshell filling question
« on: June 17, 2006, 07:45:53 PM »
I'm just confused a bit about how to visualize subshell filling. Now i know 1s and 2s hold 2 electrons which travel around in a spere shape, 3s travels over 2s i assume. then when the p shell comes in, you have 3 sets of two electrons travelling in figure 8's on the x, y and z axis' around the 1s and 2s spheres. what i don't get is when you get the D subshells coming in, how they travel... for example when you have 4s and then 3d... if the 4s is a sphere overlapping the 3s sphere, then why would electrons go underneath the 4s sphere and travel around the 3s?? Same thing for the f subshells. this may be a newb question but hey, i am a newb  8)

Offline Morphic flip

• Mole Snacks: +5/-6
  • I'm a mole!
Re: Subshell filling question
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2006, 08:27:28 PM »
D subshells which are full or half full are more stable than that of the next s subshell.
The lowest energy state is always filled first.
Have you read the Pauli exclusion principle and electron interactions?

Offline xstrae

• Mole Snacks: +5/-5
  • Life rocks!
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2006, 10:02:40 AM »
As a general rule, a new electron enters an empty orbital for which the value of 'n + l" is minimum. Here, 'n' is the principal quantum number and 'l' the azimuthal quantum number. This happens because the D subshell happens to be more stable than the s subshell. Try reading about the 'aufbau principle' and 'paul's exclusion principle'

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aufbau_principle
« Last Edit: June 19, 2006, 10:19:22 AM by konichiwa2x »

Offline Stewed_ant

• Mole Snacks: +8/-4
  • The original Arabian Alchemist (student).
i had the same problem
« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2006, 01:18:44 PM »