April 25, 2024, 01:26:19 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: What should I worry (or not) about Epoxy coating on furnitures?  (Read 3655 times)

SacredOrbit

What should I worry (or not) about Epoxy coating on furnitures?
« on: December 26, 2017, 06:57:00 AM »
Hello, first of all my apologies if I had posted this in the wrong sub-forum. I tried to find out the answer myself for sometime now but, as a complete layman, I was rather baffled for that the internet is saturated with either company sponsored information that narrates what appears to be true in a rather casual and dismissing tone ("Oh it's completely fine!" They say) or with certain SIGs that seem to paint a somewhat exaggerated picture and suggest that you should use alternative A or B  which happens to be available on their sites.

I understand that it is best not to be overly cautious on this issue but being a prudent individual that I am, I still want to be as sure as possible -  a lot of materials which saw extensive application in the past were later exposed to be quite harmful. Alas, if being sure is impossible, I want to at least be informed.

What I'm asking about is this: should I be concerned about cured "Epoxy" coating on bed frame? The so said bed is made by a reputable manufacture, an international brand. If so, what should I be concerned about?

I'm aware of the difficulty in answering this question:"Epoxy" is a rather ambiguous term encompassing different combination of chemicals which could produce quite different end products, but I believe it is possible to narrow down the answer with this critical clue - that it is used on bedroom furniture. The Epoxy coating used for flooring clearly isn't going to be the same and as such, a lot of possible combinations may be excluded.