April 19, 2024, 08:22:10 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Indicators for the bromide ion?  (Read 7569 times)

ptb969

Indicators for the bromide ion?
« on: June 22, 2006, 09:13:43 AM »
Hallo,
i am studying the kinetics of the SN2 reactions of some alkyl bromide.
When we perform the reactions of alkyl bromide with neutral nucleophiles such as amines, we can follow the course of the reaction by the conductrometry method which shows the increase of the conductance of the bromide ion.
However, when we carry out the reaction with some ionic nucleophiles like the methoxide ion, it turns out problematic. The presence of the methoxide ion may interfere the determination of bromide ion quantitatively.
I am thinking of using a selective indicator which may form a colored complex with bromide ion, this way it may be possible to use UV method to follow the reaction process. However, I still have no idea what should be a proper indicator for the bromide ion.
Do you have any suggestion in this aspect? or any advice concerning the way to perform a kinetic study of the reaction in order to determine the rate of the reaction.
I look forward to discussing with you.
Sincerely,
PTB969

Offline HP

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +33/-5
Re: Indicators for the bromide ion?
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2006, 01:46:22 PM »
Where methoxide ion come from ?
xpp

Offline lavoisier

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +17/-3
  • El sueño de la razón produce monstruos
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2006, 03:23:33 PM »
I have a couple of suggestions.

1. the old-fashioned approach, suitable for people with little resources. You could take samples of the reaction mixture at appropriate intervals, acidify with nitric acid to stop the reaction, remove the alkyl bromide by extraction (with ether?) and titrate Br- with silver nitrate.

2. use an ion-selective electrode for Br- (yes, it exists, I cheched on my old textbook of analytical chemistry!), unless it's affected by your other reagents/solvents.