March 29, 2024, 12:48:54 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: mCPBA oxidation of terminal alkene  (Read 4174 times)

Offline owk9688

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
mCPBA oxidation of terminal alkene
« on: April 10, 2018, 11:20:27 AM »
Hello,

I've never done an oxidation of an alkene before and have also never used mCPBA. The reaction I'm attempting now is to take ortho-allyl Phloroglucinol and oxidize the terminal alkene into an epoxide (so that eventually one of the phenols can open it and I can form a bicyclic structure. It seems straighforward and theres precedent with doing the reaction with ortho-allyl phenol so I feel like it should work and I must be doing something wrong.

Im adding the mCPBA all at once to a stirred solution of my allyl phloroglucinol in Room temperature DCE. The reaction mixture turns deep brown within about 20 seconds after I've added the mCPBA.  :-\ My TLC shows complete dissapearance of my product at only 1 hour but the mixture is still this awful looking dark brown. In the crude HNMR I cant see anything that resembles my product. Is there something I'm doing wrong? Should I not be adding the mCPBA all at once?

Any help or suggestions would be appreciated. Thank you!

Offline Doc Oc

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +48/-12
Re: mCPBA oxidation of terminal alkene
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2018, 01:25:43 PM »
Did you also run TLC of the mCPBA and benzoic acid for reference? How old is your mCPBA and how has it been stored?

Offline owk9688

« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2018, 02:21:06 PM »
I did not run the spots of the mCPBA sample on the TLC as well. I'll definietly do that when I try this again. The mCPBA was about a month old and had been stored in the refrigerator but we had a malfunction that caused it to not be cold for a full week. Thats the only thing I can think of thats been out of the ordinary for our storage of it.

Offline wildfyr

• Global Moderator
  • Mole Snacks: +203/-10
« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2018, 02:48:45 PM »