April 19, 2024, 04:52:05 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: I would like some help understanding this mechanism (acetaminophen lab).  (Read 4074 times)

Offline thescepticalchymist

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
I need to explain this mechanism for a lab report:

I understand most of it, but I’m not sure why, in the third step, that particular oxygen (is there a special name for it?) deprotonates the nitrogen.  Why is that oxygen a better nucleophile than the carbonyl oxygens?  I just started learning reactions with anhydrides so I’m kind of new to this stuff.

Offline OrganicDan96

• Mole Snacks: +20/-1
you are missing a methyl group and a few charges there. and you have an arrow which doesn't do anything

you are missing a methyl group and a few charges there. and you have an arrow which doesn't do anything

I didn't draw this mechanism out myself; I got it from ResearchGate...  Where is the methyl supposed to be?  And I don't see any missing charges.

Offline wildfyr

• Global Moderator
  • Mole Snacks: +203/-10
The carbon next to nitrogen in step 3 should have a methyl on it instead of being a C=O. It should have 4 bonds, C-O-C, C-OH, C-N, and C-CH3.

The missing charge is in step 4.

Offline rolnor

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +149/-10
Should not the aminogroup be protonated if the reaction is run under acidic conditions?

Offline wildfyr

• Global Moderator
Good point rolnor! This reaction should not be run under acidic conditions. I looked up a student lab version of it and its run without acid or base catalyst.

http://rene.souty.free.fr/IMG/pdf/ParacetamolProtocolFLORIDacetaminophen.pdf

I would do it neutral too as well. Acid will protonate the amine and make it a bad nucleophile, and base would deprotonate the phenol and make it compete with the aniline to attack acetic anhydride.