March 29, 2024, 04:06:03 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Acid Base Neutralization  (Read 2910 times)

Offline deezy

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Acid Base Neutralization
« on: May 03, 2018, 06:02:09 PM »
I am attempting to make 2 separate clean liquid solutions of citric acid fully chelating Cu 2+ and Mn 2+ while at the same time neutralizing (reaching a pH ~7.5-9) with Aqua Ammonia.  I have formulas for the molar ratios below which should remain very clean and stable, however in trialing these they continue to precipitate.  Any help would be appreciated as I’m still learning (currently studying Chemistry: The Central Science textbook).  I thought I would post here to learn from your real world experience and insights.  Thanks in Advance.

Products and Amounts: A note - the Cu and Mn amounts are what I need, please keep that in mind so any recommended adjustments should not affect these amounts.

Copper Solution:
•   Water – 180.98 g / 10.05 mol
•   Citric Acid Anhydrous 99% AI – 68.95 g / 0.356 mol
•   Copper Sulfate Pentahydrate – 91.63 g / 0.367 mol
•   Aqua Ammonia 23.5% AI – 112.04 g / 3.197 mol of 23.5% Aqua Ammonia Solution / 0.751 mol of Ammonia (if my math is right)
•   Ending pH is stated to be 7.5 in the formula

Manganese Solution:
•   Water – 78.93 g / 4.385 mol
•   Citric Acid Anhydrous 99% AI – 87.99 g / 0.453 mol
•   Manganese Sulfate Monohydrate – 71.21 g / 0.319 mol
•   Aqua Ammonia 23.5% AI – 215.45 g / 6.149 mol of 23.5% Aqua Ammonia Solution / 0.1445 mol of Ammonia (if my math is right)
•   Ending pH is stated to be 8.9 in the formula

Questions:
1.   Do these molar ratios look correct or realistic to achieve what I’m after?

2.   What is the correct classification for this reaction where you have neutralization occurring as well as chelation?  Would it be an acid base neutralization?  If so, it should produce a soluble
        salt (Copper Citrate & Manganese Citrate) and water correct?