April 19, 2024, 01:48:18 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: What are the conditions needed for this reaction to happen?  (Read 5248 times)

Offline Squonk

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
So bare in mind that I'm only a sophomore in high school, but I am fascinated about chemistry. So If I make a basic mistake sorry hahaha

I was looking through what reactions I could make in my own house with the stuff that I have, so I found this one:
6Hg + 4KAl(SO4)2 + 12NaCl + 3O2 = 2K2SO4 + 6Na2SO4 + 2Al2O3 + 6HgCl2

I actually researched about the products and saw that the last one is a pretty toxic mercury salt, really
If you could recomment/not recomment me doing this reaction and help me on how I could do it I would be grateful :)

Thank you for your time

Offline Corribus

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +530/-23
  • A lover of spectroscopy and chocolate.
Re: What are the conditions needed for this reaction to happen?
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2018, 05:56:37 PM »
Mercury is not something to play around with if you don't know what you are doing. Period. If you are intending to get it from a thermometer,  please don't.
What men are poets who can speak of Jupiter if he were like a man, but if he is an immense spinning sphere of methane and ammonia must be silent?  - Richard P. Feynman

Offline Squonk

« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2018, 07:24:56 PM »
I know my stuff, and I already did get mercury :)

I'm sure I'm safe and I would just appreciate any help though

I don't really know if I just put them together the reaction will happen, or if I have to heat it up or keep it at a high pressure

Offline hypervalent_iodine

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +33/-1
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2018, 07:34:17 PM »

I don't really know if I just put them together the reaction will happen, or if I have to heat it up or keep it at a high pressure