March 29, 2024, 11:06:51 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Physical Chemsitry; which physics?  (Read 7542 times)

Offline KillerWhale2020

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Physical Chemsitry; which physics?
« on: December 24, 2017, 11:51:45 PM »
Hey guys,

I was wondering if algebra based physics will be useful or I will be in a disadvantage? I’m doing a minor in chemsitry and math. So I’m not sure when I will take PCHEM. Probably after partial differential equations I will take it. I’m hoping to take it in fall 2019 or spring 2020.im a tranafer student who recently changed major to biology.

Thanks,
Christian

Offline chenbeier

• Mole Snacks: +102/-22
Re: Physical Chemsitry; which physics?
« Reply #1 on: December 25, 2017, 06:11:26 AM »
Physics is minor important in this case. Important is to have a bride scale and experience in mathematics.

Offline KillerWhale2020

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2017, 12:02:01 AM »
Should I take the class or self-study it? My goal is to take the GRE Chemistry. So it doesn't matter which physics I take?

Offline orgo814

• Mole Snacks: +11/-6
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2018, 12:55:18 PM »
From my experience taking physical chemistry, it is mostly important that you have a strong background in general chemistry and calculus (through calc 3). If you have that background, you should be fine and any "physical concepts" you could probably self-study as they come up.

Offline pcm81

• Mole Snacks: +12/-3
« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2018, 10:47:52 PM »
Hey guys,

I was wondering if algebra based physics will be useful or I will be in a disadvantage? I’m doing a minor in chemsitry and math. So I’m not sure when I will take PCHEM. Probably after partial differential equations I will take it. I’m hoping to take it in fall 2019 or spring 2020.im a tranafer student who recently changed major to biology.

Thanks,
Christian

Disclaimer: I have never taken physical chemistry, but...