March 28, 2024, 09:41:19 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Presence of undesired hollow resin particles in suspension polymerization  (Read 4667 times)

Offline GHNNS

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Hi all,
I'm new at the forum. First of all, thanks in advance for your time! My mother language is not English, so don’t shoot me for grammar mistakes.
I am a 26-year old Chemistry student. My current project is an improvement of particle size distribution of PMMA non-porous beads, prepared by a suspension polymerization. Project is still going strong, with some promising results. I started with lab scale tests (< 100 g) before scaling up to “reactor” size (> 1 kg)
However, as I investigated SEM pictures of my polymer beads PSD, I observed something strange when the batch size was scaled up to reactor size, namely the presence of hollow particles. In lab scale polymer batches was the presence of these almost negligible (= we were very lucky to spot one!). Despite the same rotor/stator configuration of our mixer, more hollow particles occur (±0.5 – 1%) in the PSD of the reactor batch. The hollow particles have a half-shell structure and are larger in diameter than the normal distribution (> 10 µm). The influence of these hollow particles on the chromatography of the end product is unsure at this moment, but I want to eliminate them in the PSD. Therefore, I need to know the root cause – and that is unknown at this moment. I hope someone could help me.

FYI:
- aqueous phase is water - PVA – surfactant + Helium flushed before polym
- monomers are methyl methacrylate based, also Helium flushed
- initiator is a peroxide
- Polymerization process is performed without Helium bubbling
- Polym temperature is 77°C
Possible root causes:
- polymerization around an air bubble? And than collapsing during clean-up?
- water droplet in a vesicle-like formation (collapsing during clean-up?)