April 25, 2024, 06:48:10 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Help me please... why Boron Chloride is dissoluble in water!  (Read 14290 times)

Offline NaCl

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
I'm a Thai Student and I'm sorry for my English.

I have just studied about The Periodic Table of the Elements. In class, the teacher taught about the properties of chloride compound (for example, NaCl, CaCl2) and she said that BCl3 is dissoluble in water. However, I find it in a book that BCl3 is nonpolar. Can anyone please explain me how it is dissoluble in water while it is nonpolar?

Thank you so much and Sorry again for my English... :)

Offline AWK

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +555/-93
Re: Help me please... why Boron Chloride is dissoluble in water!
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2006, 09:38:42 AM »
Boron trichloride reacts with water! (hydrolysis)
AWK

Offline Donaldson Tan

• Editor, New Asia Republic
  • Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +261/-13
    • New Asia Republic
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2006, 12:25:48 AM »
Boron in BCl3 is electron deficient, so BCl3 readily undergoes hydrolysis
"Say you're in a [chemical] plant and there's a snake on the floor. What are you going to do? Call a consultant? Get a meeting together to talk about which color is the snake? Employees should do one thing: walk over there and you step on the friggin� snake." - Jean-Pierre Garnier, CEO of Glaxosmithkline, June 2006

Offline Mitch

• General Chemist
  • Administrator
  • Mole Snacks: +376/-3
  • "I bring you peace." -Mr. Burns
    • Chemistry Blog
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2006, 02:52:27 PM »
Electron deficient by empirical forumla, but not by crystal structure.
Most Common Suggestions I Make on the Forums.
1. Start by writing a balanced chemical equation.
2. Don't confuse thermodynamic stability with chemical reactivity.
3. Forum Supports LaTex

Offline AWK

• Retired Staff
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2006, 08:48:08 AM »
Electron defficient also in crystal structure
AWK