Chemistry Forums for Students > Inorganic Chemistry Forum

Electrolysis of NaHCO3

(1/5) > >>

hanzdolo:
I'm new to chemistry and first I'd like to say, NO, I'm not trying to plate out sodium metal, in an aqueous solution, that's just ridiculous, lol(though I did see something on KOH but the product was less than desirable).

I am however trying to knock  CO2(g) Off and synth NaOH. Is that even possible?

The way I see the reaction carrying out is:

NaHCO3  +  H2O  :rarrow:

@Anode: CO2(g) + O2(g) + 2H+ ,

@Cathode: NaOH + H2(g) + OH-

Is that correct?

Borek:

--- Quote from: hanzdolo on January 18, 2019, 01:45:33 PM ---Is that even possible?
--- End quote ---

You will be electrolyzing water, only products will be H2 and O2. All other ions are just spectators (helping in charge transfer though).

I would expect HCO3- to slowly convert to CO32-. Not because of the electrolysis though, just because it is much more stable.

hanzdolo:

--- Quote from: Borek on January 18, 2019, 02:57:30 PM ---
--- Quote from: hanzdolo on January 18, 2019, 01:45:33 PM ---Is that even possible?
--- End quote ---

You will be electrolyzing water, only products will be H2 and O2. All other ions are just spectators (helping in charge transfer though).

I would expect HCO3- to slowly convert to CO32-. Not because of the electrolysis though, just because it is much more stable.

--- End quote ---

Wow, totally not what I expected. I figured being  when I react the solution with MgSO4 I get an immediate precipitate (unlike NaHCO3, which I have to heat or wait very long for the reaction to reach equilibrium), I was in fact producing NaOH, but I guess I was wrong.
It did give me a mild chemical burn when it got on my hands, but it was more like a H2O2 burn (I know H2O2 is unlikely).

Would a high voltage (12V with 83A available)  have any strange effects?