April 28, 2024, 04:49:36 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Pure Silver to Silver Oxide  (Read 1163 times)

Offline KooSchadler

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Pure Silver to Silver Oxide
« on: October 16, 2023, 12:26:29 PM »
I'm an artist who draws with metalpoints, a medium more commonly known as "silverpoint" (famous examples are some of the drawings by Leonardo da Vinci and Albrecht Durer ).  A metal nib is drawn across an abrasive ground, leaving deposits of metal to create a line (i.e. same as a graphite drawing, except you use metal instead of graphite, and the drawing surface must be more abrasive than paper). 

Generally it's difficult (if not impossible) to get a true, black line in metalpoint; only a very dark grey line from a silver nib is possible.  However there is an artist who claims to get true blacks from a pure silver nib.  His description of how he does so is as follows:

"Using a pure silver nib on a homemade ground [made from animal glue, marble dust, zinc oxide and bone ash]..I apply a silver [nib] to the drawing surface by striking it first on a piece of 800-grit W&D sandpaper, then applying it quickly and directly to the drawing surface. This removes the oxidised layer so the silver reacts with the ZnO in the mix to produce very dark Silver Oxide. It gets you to 9 on a 11 step value scale [11 being a true black].  If you delicately wet a small area, THEN apply the silver nib, you'll get to a true black.  PLEASE NOTE: this takes a bit of practice to do. The ground is water-soluble: too wet and you'll go through it; not wet enough and you won't get a true black. You can't go over it, you get ONE shot. Strike the silver as described above, then very gently rub the stylus into the dampened area and gradually increase pressure over 20-30 seconds. The harder you press, the darker the tone".