April 30, 2024, 07:39:52 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Is a Master's worth it?  (Read 973 times)

sadundergrad

Is a Master's worth it?
« on: December 05, 2023, 04:33:27 PM »
Hi all, I'm new to using forums so apologies if this isn't in the right place.

I am currently in my third year of a chemistry undergrad, and am contemplating staying on for an integrated Masters' year.

Is it worth doing a Masters' if you're not super excited about one? Are there any benefits or significantly different career options? Currently weighing up if I should do one or just do the undergrad.

Any thoughts/ideas would be greatly appreciated xx

Offline Corribus

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +530/-23
  • A lover of spectroscopy and chocolate.
Re: Is a Master's worth it?
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2023, 10:03:42 AM »
Why would you do something you're not "super excited" about?

Beyond that, you are not asking the right question. "Worth it" depends on your personal values. I cannot tell you whether a masters is worth it to you. A decision to pursue a degree should be based on your career goals. Decide what you want to do, then figure out what degrees you need to get there. Getting a degree as a means of delaying introspection about what is important to you is just wasting your time. Of course a masters degree will allow you to do different things, but that doesn't mean you should get a masters degree. Those options may not be aligned with your goals, in which case getting a masters would be a waste of time.

If you were my trainee, the first question I would ask you is: what do you want to do with your life? What do you value? Then I could advise you intelligently.
What men are poets who can speak of Jupiter if he were like a man, but if he is an immense spinning sphere of methane and ammonia must be silent?  - Richard P. Feynman

sadundergrad

« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2023, 12:28:34 PM »