April 25, 2024, 03:17:54 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Confused about Master's Degree  (Read 16287 times)

Offline Narumi

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Confused about Master's Degree
« on: January 10, 2008, 01:48:23 PM »
This was the best place I could come up with for this question, since it's not really a chemical problem. I apologize if it belongs elsewhere.

I'm a 2nd year graduate student in Inorganic Chemistry at a top ten school, and I've decided that I want to leave with a master's degree.

My only problem is that I don't know whether to go for an MA or an MS, or what it would mean for my potential career options. I've always had the impression that an MS was 'better' for getting a job in industry because it requires a research thesis, and an MA for teaching because it requires more diverse coursework.

However, at my institution (is it the same everywhere?) the MA degree requires a thesis, and the MS does not. I have no idea what to make of that- will it look better to an employer to have an MS, but no thesis, or an MA, which I always thought wasn't as good...?

I have completed all course requirements for both, and I am well on my way to completing a thesis. So really, it's just a matter of what's written on my degree when I leave- I'll have done all the same work, either way. My question is, how do I pick??? IS there a preference for one or the other among employers? Or is it just dependent on if there's a thesis completed? ANY ADVICE IS WELCOME!!!

Offline Alpha-Omega

• Mole Snacks: +360/-231
  • Physical Inorganic Chemist
Re: Confused about Master's Degree
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2008, 04:16:07 PM »
If you want to be seriously considered for a job in pharm/industry go for the M.S....far stronger degree..

Trust me..my boss only hires M.S. for anyting interesting...

Offline enahs

• 16-92-15-68 32-7-53-92-16
  • Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +206/-44
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2008, 07:45:09 PM »
You want the MS.