May 29, 2024, 02:02:35 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: More acidic?  (Read 9687 times)

Offline pacman12

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
More acidic?
« on: March 25, 2011, 06:46:05 PM »
Hello
I am new to this site and I am a college student currently taking an organic chemistry course. I like this site and how it helps students.

I have 2 questions of my own I am currently having trouble with,

First is why is p-nitro-aniline more acidic than p-bromo-aniline? I know it is because of inductive effect and p-nitro-aniline has more resonance structures. I have attached a link to a picture of the resonance structures I came up with. I can't seem to get the rest of them  :(

http://img340.imageshack.us/i/imag0419i.jpg/

My second question was how to know whether m-nitro-aniline is a stronger or weaker base than p-nitro-aniline. I know that NO2 is a meta directing group so would that mean it is more acidic?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

Offline nj_bartel

• Mole Snacks: +76/-42
Re: More acidic?
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2011, 03:19:52 AM »

Using this, try to use your corrected knowledge of the resonance structures to draw the resonance contributors for meta-nitroaniline and para-nitroaniline and see what you come up with as far as basicity

Offline adianadiadi

• Mole Snacks: +0/-6
    • AdiChemistry: An Online Resource of Chemistry Study Material
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2011, 07:39:20 AM »
NH2 group is basic ???

Offline Honclbrif

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +58/-10
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2011, 10:11:52 AM »