June 16, 2024, 12:36:29 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Polyole and Alcohol and DMAE Dimethylaminoethanol  (Read 3794 times)

Offline Doc.AElstein

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Polyole and Alcohol and DMAE Dimethylaminoethanol
« on: May 16, 2016, 11:50:42 AM »
Polyole and Alcohol and DMAE Dimethylaminoethanol

Hi,
 I apologise that this is a dumb question for many of you. But I have no chemistry background

_ 1) Some  confirmation please. ( or any comments )
_ 1(i) I think I am correct in saying “Alcohol” ( as in Beer etc.! ) is most generally the “Alcohol” referred to in Nutritional Information when the word “Alcohol” is seen . This has approximately 7 Kcal /g. It is that which one often sees in Published general Nutritional Lists?
_ 1(ii) Similarly on “low Carb” products such as sport protein bars etc, the Polyhydric alcohols are  something else and have approximately 2.4 Kcal / g . Whilst given on Labels the Polyhydric alcohols I believe is not given generally in more genera nutritional tables  that are Published ?
_ 1 (iii) The word “Polyols or Polyole” I typically come across when referring to this Low carb “thing”. I have this in a group which I loosely call “Sauerstoffe  Oxygen Reaction Group “. There I have  Under groups of things like Hydroxyl Groups and there I have the things like (Primary ) Alkanols, Ethanol, . then come the Polyhydric alcohols..  I guess this is as good as anywhere for a very broad / general List of “Things”

_ 2) Regarding DMAE Dimethylaminoethanol.
_ 2 (i) Would this better be described as close to Alcohol. I am guessing this (apologise if naively)  from the part “Ethanol” in its full name. Ethanol , I believe,  is the more correct word for what we, in terms of Beer etc, refer to as  “Alcohol”.